Primary Stroke Center

On May 29, 2012, Governor Corbett signed Act 54 of 2012. This Act creates a mechanism for the identification of acute care hospitals that are designated as Primary Stroke Centers. Under this Act, the Department of Health will recognize hospitals as Primary Stroke Centers upon submission of an application that states that the hospital is certified as a Primary Stroke Center by the Joint Commission or another nationally recognized accreditation organization. The designation shall last as long as the hospital remains certified as a Primary Stroke Center, unless suspended or revoked by the Department.  Act 54 took effect on July 28, 2012.

Currently Recognized Stroke Centers